For Retired Law Enforcement Officers
LEOSA HR-218 Qualification Exam and Carry Card
Retired police and other qualifying law enforcement officers may carry their approved firearms nationally under a federal law known as the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act of 2004 and the LEOSA Improvement Act of 2010.
We have provided the LEOSA Qualification Program to retired federal agents, state troopers, municipal police officers, US Army and Air Force law enforcement personnel and other qualifying LEO's.
Click here for the Law Enforcement Officer Safety Improvement Act.
Qualification testing is conducted weekly at your convenience. The Connecticut P.O.S.T Standards Course of Fire for Pistols is used for Connecticut retired Leo’s and those retired who reside in this state.
Upon successful completion, we issue you your annual LEOSA wallet-sized carry card which accompanies your retired agency identification card.
You may use your own firearm(s) or rent ours. You supply the ammunition
(60 cartridges) for each type of firearm you wish to carry under this law (semi-automatic or revolver) and your firearm (s). The examination requires one successful qualification for each type of firearm. Fee includes headset, safety glasses, B60-CT targets. We also rent firearms for use in the qualification.
Tuition: $75. for one firearm (revolver or semi-auto) or $85. for two firearm types. LEO qualification targets included. Firearm rental if needed $20.
Commercial indoor range fee additional.
HR 218 qualifications are also conducted on request. Law Enforcement documents required.
Upcoming HR 218 Classes:
Dec. 17, Sunday 13:30 hrs.
January 6, Saturday 14:30 hrs.
February 11, Sunday 14:30 hrs.
March 16, Saturday 14:30 hrs
April 14, Sunday 14:30 hrs
May 18, Saturday 14:30 hrs
June 9, Sunday 14:30 hrs
Classes on a rolling schedule besides the above. Call us.
To Register for the LEOSA HR-218 Qualification Exam
HF LearnSafety Cancellation Policy: No refunds are available. If you are unable to attend a pre-registered class, you may reschedule by contacting us no later than three days prior to the class date. You may only reschedule once and must take the rescheduled class within a two-month period. Class registration is transferable to another person.