At the conclusion of this approved State Police course you will be able to submit your paperwork to a security service or company to become a pistol permit licensed Class 1 armed security officer. The class includes eight hours of classroom instruction and a firing range qualification.*
Students bring their firearm, ammunition and duty belt (optional) to class.
Firearm rental available through HF LearnSafety.
Pre-registration and advance payment is required.
Class is also conducted On Demand, same tuition.
This HF LearnSafety course is approved by the State of Connecticut Office of Financial Armed Security Guards and Academic Affairs for Higher Education and the US Veterans Affairs for full financial reimbursement of this course to qualifying veterans using VA Form 22-0803.
January 29, Friday
February 10, Wednesday
February 26, Friday
March 15, Monday
March 26, Friday
April 12, Monday
April 30, Friday
May 10, Monday
May 28, Friday
Classes start at 8:30 am.
Also held anytime during the week when you need it! Just call 203-947-4327.
Armed Security Guards in the State of Connecticut are required to have a licensed certification card with the Firearms Permit Endorsement Class 1 on their CT Permit for Pistols and Revolvers. This is known as the Blue Card.
You may take this armed security officer's course prior to being offered an armed security position with a licensed security agency. The security company is required to submit your paperwork to the State Police License and Firearms Unit. The Connecticut Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection is responsible for issuing your Blue Card Endorsement once all requirements are met. The endorsement on your pistol permit is good for five years and then renewable as applicable. You will be required to attend a review class with firearm qualification course on an annual basis. HF LearnSafety provides this course as well.
Must be at least 21 years old
United States citizen or legal alien
No felony convictions or any crime involving the illegal use of weapons
Never disqualified from owning a firearm
Successful criminal background check
No previous security license denial
Drug testing may be required
Good moral character
Possess a Connecticut State Pistol Permit (Resident or Non-Resident)
Blue Card Firearms permit endorsement Class 1 permit from Connecticut
State Police (through HF LearnSafety LLC)
To identify and demonstrate firearm nomenclature and safety issues regarding the use and safe storage
To identify and demonstrate on duty firearm carry techniques with the appropriate equipment.
Discuss and understand Connecticut General Statutes regarding firearm use of force and security officer laws.
The technical aspects and legal responsibilities inherent in carrying and using a firearm as an armed
Use of force (reasonable and deadly)
Tuition: $185.00 includes outdoor range fee when available.
Commercial indoor range fee additional.
This class is also reimbursed by the VA for qualifying veterans.
Classes are also conducted On Demand, same tuition.
HF LearnSafety Cancellation Policy: No refunds are available. If you are unable to attend a pre-registered class, you may reschedule by contacting us no later than three days prior to the class date. You may only reschedule once and must take the rescheduled class within a two-month period. Class registration is transferable to another person. HF LearnSafety reserves the right to cancel and reschedule any class due to low enrollment.